Author Topic: CAM software  (Read 16450 times)

wing_nut

• View Profile
CAM software
« on: January 20, 2009, 03:44:11 PM »
Hello to all

I design model hulls in a CAD software and I generate DXF files (see my introducing post)

I am looking for free CAM software. I am testing CamBam and gCad3d, but I need help documentations and tutorials to start.
Is someone have link (other than cerebralmeltdown, gCad3d and CamBam sites) to examples, helps or tutorials ?

Is someone use other free CAM software ? Can I have user's feedback on this kind of software ?

I apologize for my poor english language.

Ecrou Papillon

Gabriel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: CAM software
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 08:38:25 PM »
I'm sorry to say that there is a good chance that the documentation you've been looking for probably isn't available.  Although, I can't be absolutely certain about the gCad3d program because I have never used it before.  The only place I've seen CamBam tutorials is on the CamBam website and the CamBam forums and I'm sure you've probably looked there.

Here is a link to a free program for CAM called FreeMill. It is somewhat limited because you can't set the depth increments on it, but since you said that you're only cutting blocks of foam it might not really matter.
http://www.mecsoft.com/Mec/Products/FreeMill.shtml
This company actually called me on the phone about a month after I registered to try and get me to buy the full version, so keep that in mind if that sort of thing bothers you. They only called once though, so it wasn't too much of an inconvenience.

Here is a link to another program called MeshCam. It's not free, but it is fairly cheap and easy to use. There is a 30 day demo which might be enough time for you to get what you need out of it.
http://www.grzsoftware.com/