Author Topic: calculating heliostat mirror position  (Read 6122 times)

tomnagel

• View Profile
calculating heliostat mirror position
« on: April 26, 2012, 11:45:06 PM »
I am studying the control software for Arduino that Gabriel posted on this website for my Heliostat.
I do not understand the piece where the Heliostat position is calculated. It uses more or less complex formulas, while I would think it could be very simple. My reasoning is: the angle of the mirror should be halfway between the sun and the target, for both Azimuth and Altitude. Also I would think Azimuth and Altitude do not influence each other. In the formulas, they do!
Example:
suppose my target is at Alt, Az=0;0 and the sun is at 45;45. According to the Heliostat software, the mirror must be at 18;24.
I would think the mirror should be at 22.5;22,5 (halfway)

Can someone explain the calculation in the software to me (the reasoning)?
« Last Edit: April 27, 2012, 05:36:07 AM by tomnagel »

Gabriel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: calculating heliostat mirror position
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2012, 08:04:28 PM »
Hi tomnagel, and welcome to the forum!

During some of my earliest attempts at getting a heliostat to work, I thought that calculating the heliostat's position could be done the way you described. After some experimenting with some CAD drawings in Sketchup though, I realized that it doesn't work. The calculated angle is sort of in the ballpark, but can still be several degrees off from where it should be. The method is perfectly sound in 2D, but once you move to 3D it gets a fair bit more complicated.

I have pasted most of the "FindHeliostatAngle" function below. I just realized that I never got around to writing comments to explain what everything does. I would need a good picture to explain it in depth, but if you know your trig and a little bit of vector math, you should still be able to get the gist of it.