Author Topic: Hello from the UK  (Read 1106 times)

Simon

• View Profile
    • My LinkedIn profile
Hello from the UK
« on: September 22, 2013, 01:32:04 PM »
Hi, to the Cerebral Meltdown forum.

My name is Simon, I'm based just outside of London and have just started to get back to my first love - Engineering.

I've just completed a solar power energy diverter which is heavily based on the work done in the Open Energy Monitor forum, and in the process having re-learned much of my electronics which I studied at university, I'm now embarking on a Heliostat design to replace an anologue version I made a couple of years ago.

I'll admit, I'm currently struggling to learn C++, I left the Mullard/Philips research and applications labs in the mid 80's, just as it was becoming a solid alternative to C, but by then I was managing a team of engineers, so I didn't have to burn my fingers on it, and clearly there are lots of opportunities so to do.  After that I completely lost the 'hands on engineering' and moved more and more into management - Hey ho, that's life and money!!!!

I look forward to learning lots from this group, and maybe can add some value in the future, but for now I shall lurk in the background assimulating knolwledge.

All the best and regards
Simon

Gabriel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Hello from the UK
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2013, 08:10:56 AM »
Hello Simon, and welcome to the forum!

It sounds like you have quite a background. I'd love to see anything you come up with (or have already come up with).

That OpenEnergyMonitor project does look interesting. It sounds a bit like an idea I had for the Open Sun Harvesting Project which involves collecting data on how much energy everyone is potentially gathering with their DIY machines and then putting together a simple graph of it. Ideally, the amount of energy gathered will just keep going up and up!