Author Topic: Archeoastronomy and Sketchup  (Read 12117 times)

construsol

• View Profile
Archeoastronomy and Sketchup
« on: April 17, 2010, 12:59:38 PM »
Hi. Just seen the Sun Position Plugin and its great!

I'm really thrilled to know this Plug has been done, because in some way tells me that a similar one I wished to develop can be done. In order for this plug to work, some elementary notions about Alt. and Az. coordinates are needed, and as I can see in the sun position plugin they are understanded very well. The thing is that I'm not a programmer or know Ruby for SketchUp. So, please read this and let me know if anyone can help. I want to know if a plugin can be done that can be called something like "Align Z axiz of Plane to Vector". In such script, trough Azimuth and Altitude coordinates a vector would be drawn starting at 0,0,0, and then a Z axis of a plane would move to be parallel to that vector. This would be very similar to Azimuth and Altitude coordinates needed for a vector to start at 0,0,0 and point to the Sun, but instead, the coordinates would be to point at certain celestial bodies. No need to represent the star or planet, just a vector that points to it, then, select a plane and make its Z axis parallel to that vector so that the plane faces directly to the star or planet.
Besides using SU a lot as an architect, I do research in the Archeoastronomy field, and this plugin would be just fantastic. Can this be done? Thanks in advance for any help. Regards.

construsol

• View Profile
Re: Archeoastronomy and Sketchup
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2010, 02:08:51 PM »

Just as background information, nothing more, my plugin request in the above mail is a much simpler request of a previous one I did. Here is the link:

http://forums.sketchucation.com/viewtopic.php?f=180&t=27480#p238008