Author Topic: KenPro antenna rotor  (Read 1469 times)

FM5AB

• View Profile
KenPro antenna rotor
« on: August 19, 2014, 03:05:33 PM »
I have an Kenpro rotor that i have use for ham radio satellite tracking It will be great for me to use it with sun tracking heliosat ardino program for tracking the sun.

The position of the rotor (elev and az) is give by a dc voltages 0 to 3.6 v (easy to use with ardino)

For the comand to the rotor In have 4 lines to put to the grownd for activate the motors (up downd right and left) (ok for ardino)

So, I have to read the clock
to compute Az and elevation
convert Az and elev to a number between 0 an 3.6
compare this number to the value given but the rotor (actual position 0 to 3.6v)
and give the orders (pin low) for turning in the good direction !

I am new in Ardino and I am not sure to make the soft successively without help !

Sorry for my bad English !!!

Gabriel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: KenPro antenna rotor
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 06:50:48 PM »
Hello FM5AB and welcome to the forums!

It sounds like that Kenpro rotor will make the mechanical side of things a lot easier. If it works out, maybe other people can follow your example.

"So, I have to read the clock"
to compute Az and elevation"
Both of these are already done in the Sun Harvester program, so you shouldn't have to do anything there, unless you are using a different clock than I do.

"convert Az and elev to a number between 0 an 3.6"
I think this arduino function should help with that. http://arduino.cc/en/reference/map
Az min would be -180 and Az max would be 180
Alt min would be -90 and Alt max would be 90

"compare this number to the value given but the rotor (actual position 0 to 3.6v)
and give the orders (pin low) for turning in the good direction!"