Author Topic: Solar Power Tower  (Read 1316 times)

zimirken

• View Profile
Solar Power Tower
« on: February 20, 2015, 11:21:26 AM »
Hello everyone, I'm an engineer in Michigan. I had a crazy idea to build a solar power plant to make money. I think I've finally settled on building a solar power tower. PV cells, while definitely cheap and easy, really aren't something I can build myself. Build a PV solar farm requires a large capital investment, and since all you can do is send money to china and get solar panels, there is no real way to build things yourself to offset the monetary investment. Since I have experience with steam engines, I thought about building a solar thermal farm. I don't like parabolic troughs because you have a huge distributed high pressure boiler network, which is both expensive and risky. I like the idea of a solar power tower because the boiler is in one little spot, and heliostats are very modular. I figure something like this is about the most reliable way to own your own business you can get. In order to make a decent salary I'll probably need at least 200KW of generating capacity, which comes out to something like 5ish acres of heliostats. This is obviously not something that I can do in a year, I was thinking of slowly building it in my free time over a long period, as sort of my life's work. I figure I can just build heliostats here and there as I get the time and money, and once I settle on an efficient steam engine design I would only have to upgrade the tower and engine every once in a while.

What do you guys think of this idea? None of this seems terribly difficult, and would be like eating an elephant. The hardest part for me would be all of the legal things like permits and property taxes.

Gabriel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Solar Power Tower
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2015, 07:01:27 AM »